Follow us:


A way to keep up with Seattle theaters, concert halls, galleries, museums and other fine-arts events.

June 11, 2012 at 10:45 AM

SIFF 2012 ends with party, Golden Space Needles

A Cars tribute band entertained a body-to-body crowd at the Seattle Hyatt Sunday night, bringing SIFF 2012 to a close.

Plenty of people had reason to party — including pass-holders, who had been treated to a marathon of movies; SIFF staffers, who were relieved to make it across the finish line; and winners of the annual audience-voted Golden Space Needle awards.

We reported on a lot of the winning films in print today, but didn’t have room for the full list of runners-up, etc. That list is below. For additional juried awards, go to the SIFF site.


Note all the love for locally connected films such as Megan Griffiths‘ “Eden” (pictured), Colin Trevorrow’s “Safety Not Guaranteed” and others. Also, if you’re looking for a list of films that played at SIFF that are returning to Seattle later this summer, you’ll find it with today’s story.

Best Film Golden Space Needle Award

ANY DAY NOW, directed by Travis Fine (USA, 2012)

First runner-up: EDEN, directed by Megan Griffiths (USA, 2012)

Second runner-up: STARBUCK, directed by Ken Scott (Canada (Quebec), 2011)

Third runner-up: SAFETY NOT GUARANTEED, directed by Colin Trevorrow (USA, 2012)

Fourth runner-up: THE CHEF, directed by Daniel Cohen (France, 2012)

Rounding out the top ten: THE INTOUCHABLES (directed by Eric Toledano and Olivier Nakache, France, 2011); FAT KID RULES THE WORLD (directed by Matthew Lillard, USA, 2012); MOONRISE KINGDOM (directed by Wes Anderson, USA, 2012); IRA FINKELSTEIN’S CHRISTMAS (directed by Sue Corcoran, USA, 2012); RECALLED (directed by Michael Connors, USA 2012)

Best Documentary Golden Space Needle Award

THE INVISIBLE WAR, directed by Kirby Dick (USA, 2012)

First runner-up: THE OTHER DREAM TEAM, directed by Marius Markevicius (Lithuania, 2012)

Second runner-up: CHASING ICE, directed by Jeff Orlowski (USA, 2012)
Third runner-up: ETHEL, directed by Rory Kennedy (USA, 2012)
Fourth runner-up: THE LONG RIDE HOME, directed by Thomas Wright (USA, 2012)
Rounding out the top ten: UNDER AFRICAN SKIES (directed by Joe Berlinger, USA, 2012); MARINA ABRAMOVIC THE ARTIST IS PRESENT (directed by Matthew Akers and Jeff Dupre, USA, 2012); CHARLES BRADLEY: SOUL OF AMERICA (directed by Poull Brien, USA, 2012); THE SAVOY KING: CHICK WEBB AND THE MUSIC THAT CHANGED AMERICA (directed by Jeff Kaufman, USA, 2012); AI WEIWEI: NEVER SORRY (directed by Allison Klayman, USA, 2012)
Best Director Golden Space Needle Award
First runner-up: Wes Anderson, MOONRISE KINGDOM (USA, 2012)
Second runner-up: Megan Griffiths, EDEN (USA, 2012)
Third runner-up: Rasit Çelikezer, ÇAN (Turkey, 2011)
Fourth runner-up: Mohammad Rasoulof, GOODBYE (Iran, 2011)
Rounding out the top ten: Colin Trevorrow, SAFETY NOT GUARANTEED (USA, 2012); Travis Fine, ANY DAY NOW (USA, 2012); Nacho Vigalondo, EXTRATERRESTRIAL (Spain, 2011); Lisa Ohlin, SIMON AND THE OAKS (Sweden, 2011); Michael Conners, RECALLED (USA, 2012)
Best Actor Golden Space Needle Award
Alan Cumming, ANY DAY NOW (USA, 2012)
First runner-up: Matt O’Leary, EDEN (USA, 2012)
Second runner-up: Omar Sy, THE INTOUCHABLES (France, 2011)
Third runner-up: Berkan Demirbag, ÇAN (Turkey, 2011)
Fourth runner-up: Mark Duplass, SAFETY NOT GUARANTEED (USA, 2012)
Rounding out the top ten: German de Silva, LAS ACACIAS (Argentina, 2011); Anders Danielson Lie, OSLO, AUGUST 31st (Norway, 2011); Chris Pine, PEOPLE LIKE US (USA, 2012); Thomas Schubert, BREATHING (Austria, 2011); Bill Skarsgard, SIMON AND THE OAKS (Sweden, 2011)
Best Actress Golden Space Needle Award
Jamie Chung, EDEN (USA, 2012)
First runner-up: Olympia Dukakis, CLOUDBURST (Canada, 2011)
Second runner-up: Quvenzhane Wallis, BEASTS OF THE SOUTHERN WILD (USA, 2012)
Third runner-up: Gaite Jansen, 170HZ (Netherlands, 2011)
Fourth runner-up: Selen Uçer, CAN (Turkey, 2011)
Rounding out the top ten: Michelle Williams, TAKE THIS WALTZ (Canada, 2011); Leila Zare GOODBYE (Iran, 2011); Aubrey Plaza, SAFETY NOT GUARANTEED (USA, 2012); Charlotte Rampling, THE EYE OF THE STORM (Australia, 2011); Laura Linney, THE DETAILS (USA, 2011)
Best Short Film Golden Space Needle Award
CATCAM, directed by Seth Keal (USA, 2012)
First runner-up: ASAD, directed by Bryan Buckley (South Africa/ USA, 2011)
Second runner-up: FRESH GUACAMOLE, directed by Pes (USA, 2012)
Third runner-up: HELLO CALLER, directed by Andrew Putschoegl (USA, 2011)
Fourth runner-up: COFFEE and PIE, directed by Douglas Horn (USA, 2011)
Lena Sharpe Award for Persistence of Vision, Presented by Women in Film/Seattle
This award is presented to the female director whose feature film receives the highest number of audience ballots.
EDEN, directed by Megan Griffiths (USA, 2012)
(Photo of “Eden” by Sean Porter.)



No personal attacks or insults, no hate speech, no profanity. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate this thread by reporting any abuse. See our Commenting FAQ.

The opinions expressed in reader comments are those of the author only, and do not reflect the opinions of The Seattle Times.

The Seattle Times

The door is closed, but it's not locked.

Take a minute to subscribe and continue to enjoy The Seattle Times for as little as 99 cents a week.

Subscription options ►

Already a subscriber?

We've got good news for you. Unlimited content access is included with most subscriptions.

Subscriber login ►
The Seattle Times

To keep reading, you need a subscription upgrade.

We hope you have enjoyed your complimentary access. For unlimited access, please upgrade your digital subscription.

Call customer service at 1.800.542.0820 for assistance with your upgrade or questions about your subscriber status.

The Seattle Times

To keep reading, you need a subscription.

We hope you have enjoyed your complimentary access. Subscribe now for unlimited access!

Subscription options ►

Already a subscriber?

We've got good news for you. Unlimited content access is included with most subscriptions.

Activate Subscriber Account ►