Follow us:

High School Sports Blog

The latest news and analysis on high-school sports around the Seattle area

June 25, 2008 at 12:37 PM

All-state baseball

As chosen by a poll of the state’s reporters:

Class 4A

Player of the year: Derek Jones, Snohomish.

Coach of the year: Kim Hammons, Snohomish.

First team

P: Rusty Shellhorn, Central Valley; Adam Conley, Olympia; Derek Jones, Snohomish.

C: Doug Joyce, Stanwood.

IF: Brady Steiger, South Kitsap; Brett Jacobs, Richland; Garrett Totten, Mountlake Terrace; Joell Reyes, Juanita.

OF: Caleb Brown, Central Kitsap; Danny Oh, Jackson; Kyle Conwell, Tahoma.

Second team

P: Adam Cimber, Puyallup; Jake Theis, Mountlake Terrace; Andrew Kittredge, Ferris; Kramer Champlin, Olympia.

C: Taylor Ausbun, Puyallup.

IF: Beau Brett, Ferris; Cody Shepherd, Richland; Bobby LeCount, Shorewood; Taylor Ard, Prairie.

OF: Colby Sokol, Emerald Ridge; Kramer Skidmore, Olympia; Ethan Hargrove, Snohomish; Kramer Scott, Edmonds-Woodway.

Honorable mention

P: Evan Morris, Davis; Ian Miller, Heritage; Colton Richards, Wenatchee.

C: Todd Dalrymple, South Kitsap; Steve Kirbach, Juanita; Derek Johnson, Wenatchee.

IF: Ben Ruff, Puyallup; Daniel Zylstra, Central Kitsap.

OF: Ryan McKinney, Richland; Aaron Morice, Moses Lake; Derek Voigt, Thomas Jefferson; Mike Blake, Heritage.

Class 3A

Player of the year: Trevor May, Kelso.

Coach of the year: A.J. Marquardt, Kennewick.

First team

P: Tony Bryant, Kennewick; Trevor May, Kelso; Matt Boyd, Eastside Catholic.

C: Chase Anselment, Meadowdale.

IF: Casey Locker, Ferndale; John Boire, Yelm; Eric Lane, Port Angeles; Landon Scott, Kennewick; Tyler Cherin, West Seattle.

OF: Luke Loftus, Kennewick; Erich Armstrong, Franklin Pierce; Spencer Rogers, Issaquah.

Second team

P: David Olson, Auburn; Jay Fox, Southridge; Devlin Payton, Timberline; Nathan Burch, Hazen.

C: Kevin Whitehead, Franklin Pierce; Maxx Garrett, Kamiakin.

IF: Cal Towey, Eastside Catholic; Andy Bethel, Seattle Prep; David Olson, Auburn.

OF: Sean Rehan, Auburn Riverside; Andrew Mendenhall, Southridge.

Honorable mention

P: Colton Brown, Auburn; Adrian Sampson, Skyline; Jason Jones, Kamiakin; Phillip Lange, Ferndale; Seth Haehl, Eastmont.

C: Joe Driver, Kennewick; Kyle Sutherland, Issaquah.

IF: Kevin Allan, West Valley (Yakima); Travis Shreve, Auburn; James Robbins, Shorecrest; Spencer Downs, Kelso.

OF: Spencer Hannah, Ferndale; Jesus Morgan, Kelso; Mike Jones, North Thurston; Phillip Caldwell, Kelso.

Class 2A

Player of the year: Kevin Komstadius, East Valley (Yakima).

Coach of the year: Gary Hatch, Sehome.

First team

P: Jared Vera, Sehome; Kevin Komstadius, East Valley (Yakima); Jacob Overbay, W.F. West (Chehalis).

C: Ryan Williams, Sehome.

IF: Jake Fife, Selah; Bryndon Ecklund, Elma; Jared Fritz, Ridgefield; Kevin Komstadius, East Valley (Yakima).

OF: Bryan Peterson, West Valley (Spokane); Josh Spears, Lakewood; Conor Long, Sehome.

Second team

P: Matt Minium, Mark Morris; Andy Vennum, West Valley (Spokane); Brian Van Wert, Fife.

C: Brian Van Wert, Fife.

IF: Tommy Edwards, Cedarcrest; Derrick Webb, Ephrata; Anthony Pitsch, Sehome; Kevin Elkins, East Valley (Yakima).

OF: Travis Boman, Hockinson; Bryan Housden, Centralia; Charlie Voth, Lynden.

Honorable mention

P: Tyler Lesko, Ephrata; Bryce Flamand, Pullman; Travis Cook, Cedarcrest; Justin Windsor, Selah; Tyler Sullivan, Kingston.

C: Zack Halverson, Bellingham; Dakota Bunce, Cedarcrest; Shon Valdez, Othello.

IF: Jon Matos, River Ridge; Michael Takemura, Bellingham; Robert Pehl, W.F. West (Chehalis).

OF: Tyler Druffel, Pullman; Bobby Lee Pottenger, East Valley (Yakima); Cody Ray, W.F. West (Chehalis); Jake Robinett, Archbishop Murphy; Kyle Macy, Anacortes.

Class 1A

Player of the year: Ryan Knutz, Rochester.

Coach of the year: Jerry Striegel, Rochester.

First team

P: Jordan Everson, Rochester; Alex Phillips, Tenino; Tyler Ford, Freeman.

C: Ryan Knutz, Rochester.

IF: Chris Pierce, Kalama; Dennin Harding, River View; Tyler Ford, Freeman; Kyle Stillar, Lakeside; Kyle Taylor, Bellevue Christian.

OF: Nate Eppich, Connell; Jacob Kitteman, Freeman; Ethan Flory, Naches Valley.

Second team

P: Nich Dohman, Goldendale; Dennin Harding, River View; Kye Winter, Orting; Thomas Wilcox, Naches Valley.

C: Jake Graham, Lakeside (Nine Mile Falls).

IF: Justin Calhoun, Vashon Island; Nick Dohman, Goldendale; Chad Van Berkum, Nooksack Valley.

OF: Josh Moss, Tenino; Mike Murray, Castle Rock; Patrick Philley, Charles Wright.

Honorable mention

P: Corey Brundridge, Kiona-Benton; Roy Figueroa, Chelan; Jacob Conklin, Tenino; Nick Laroy, Kalama; Willy Hansen, Meridian.

C: Jake Sullivan, Freeman; Mike Laroy, Kalama; Tom Schumaker, Vashon Island.

IF: Austin Benson, Brewster.

OF: Beau Barnes, Freeman; Chris Allman, Vashon Island; Frank Carpenter, Montesano; Kyle Douchette, Chimacum; Jeremy Bohnett, Bellevue Christian; Nate Haile, Naches Valley.

Class 2B

Player of the year: Nathan Burres, Northwest Christian (Lacey).

Coach of the year: Don Heinze, Northwest Christian (Lacey).

First team

P: Marcus Fazzari, DeSales; Nathan Burres, Northwest Christian (Lacey); Tanner Larson, Seattle Lutheran.

C: Matt Wujek, DeSales.

IF: Kevin Baffney, DeSales; Tyson Stephens, Adna; Robbie Alter, La Salle; Tommy Quinby, Ocosta.

OF: Jeremy Harper, Mossyrock; Tyler Henry, Asotin; Brandon Austin, Rainier Christian.

Second team

P: Brandon Austin, Rainier Christian; Creighton Alfrod, Asotin; Trevor Kindell, Adna.

C: Preston Turk, Northwest Christian (Lacey).

IF: Tanner Larson, Seattle Lutheran; Pat Richard, DeSales; Robbie Groeschell, Northwest Christian (Lacey); Robert Langloss, Kittitas.

OF: Nick Pettit, Adna; Ryan Schulz, Reardan; Tyler Johnson, Northwest Christian (Lacey).

Honorable mention

P: Lane Gillman, Tacoma Baptist.

C: Peter Wagner, Adna.

Class 1B

Player of the year: Tucker Guglielmino, Northport.

Coach of the year: Keith Samplawski, Lake Quinault.

First team

P: Johnny Boggs, Wishkah Valley; Travis Todd, Odessa; Kyle Richardson, Pateros; Tucker Guglielmino, Northport.

C: Ryan Mickelson, Lake Quinault.

IF: Dillon Dombrowski, Northport; Kyle Richardson, Pateros; Tucker Guglielmino, Northport; Michael Mayton, Lake Quinault; Travis Todd, Odessa.

OF: Josiah Rhoades, Lake Quinault; Joey Haggberg, Touchet; Nick Jacobs, Colton.

Honorable mention

P: Michael Mayton, Lake Quinault; Brian Pisca, Touchet; Chris Christiansen, Lake Quinault; Nick Jacobs, Colton.

C: Jake Druffel, Colton; Marshall Byerley, Touchet.

IF: Nick Heitstuman, Colton.

OF: Brock Slocum, Garfield-Palouse; Chase Druffel, Colton; Dillon Drombowski, Northport; Jordan Hughes, Almira/Coulee-Hartline.



No personal attacks or insults, no hate speech, no profanity. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate this thread by reporting any abuse. See our Commenting FAQ.

The opinions expressed in reader comments are those of the author only, and do not reflect the opinions of The Seattle Times.

The Seattle Times

The door is closed, but it's not locked.

Take a minute to subscribe and continue to enjoy The Seattle Times for as little as 99 cents a week.

Subscription options ►

Already a subscriber?

We've got good news for you. Unlimited content access is included with most subscriptions.

Subscriber login ►
The Seattle Times

To keep reading, you need a subscription upgrade.

We hope you have enjoyed your complimentary access. For unlimited access, please upgrade your digital subscription.

Call customer service at 1.800.542.0820 for assistance with your upgrade or questions about your subscriber status.

The Seattle Times

To keep reading, you need a subscription.

We hope you have enjoyed your complimentary access. Subscribe now for unlimited access!

Subscription options ►

Already a subscriber?

We've got good news for you. Unlimited content access is included with most subscriptions.

Activate Subscriber Account ►