Follow us:

High School Sports Blog

The latest news and analysis on high-school sports around the Seattle area

June 19, 2014 at 3:05 PM

All-State boys soccer MVPs include Lakeside’s Wallis Lapsley

Junior goalkeeper Wallis Lapsley, who helped key Lakeside’s run to a state championship last month, has been voted MVP of the Class 3A All-State boys soccer team, which was released this week.

Lakeside’s Mark Szabo is the 3A Coach of the Year, while the 4A coaching honors went to Dan Pingrey of Snohomish.

Selections are made by a vote of Washington State Soccer Coaches Association members.

Here are the complete teams for 4A, 3A, 2A and 1A:

Class 4A
MVP – Carter Johnson, Midfielder – Skyview
Coach of the Year – Dan Pingrey – Snohomish
First Team
Forwards – Uriel Herrera, Sr. Snohomish; Brandon Madsen, Sr. Thomas Jefferson; Johnny Cortez, Sr. Moses Lake; Jason Twaddle, Sr. Skyline.
Midfielders – Carter Johnson, Sr. Skyview; Brandyn Bangsund, Sr. Kentwood; Jose Fernando Sanchez, Jr. Federal Way; Connor Ourada, Sr. Ferris.
Defenders – Matt Beaulaurier, Sr. Ferris; Garrett Brewer, Sr. Federal Way; Keegan Crook, Sr., Kentwood; Dekotah Keogh Sr. Snohomish.
Goalkeeper – Jake Frederickson, Sr. Rogers.
Second Team
Forwards – Nate Beasley, Sr. Camas; Terry Cox, Jr. Ferris; Adrian Vasquez, Sr. Moses Lake; Brad Macdougall, Jr. Puyallup; Francisco Sanchez, Sr. Walla Walla.
Midfielders – Jamison Corbin, Sr. Olympia; Abdi Abdulahi, Sr. Garfield; Matt Palodichuk, Sr. Camas; Austin Cassity, Sr. Camas.
Defenders – Garrett Barber, Sr. Mount Vernon; Nick Morgan, Sr. Skyline; Ben Thompson, Sr. Lewis and Clark; Gus Baxter, Jr. Snohomish.
Goalkeeper – Ryan Peters, Sr. Snohomish; Admir Kucalovic, Sr. Kentwood.
Honorable Mention
Forwards – Tanner Corrie, Jr. Snohomish; Bennett Lehner, Soph. Camas; Samuel Agyei, Soph. Cascade; Giovanny Soto, Jr. Wenatchee.
Midfielders – Josh Dombal, Jr. Snohomish; Steven Johnson, Central Kitsap; Sean Cotton, Sr. Moses Lake; Aung Ta, Sr. Todd Beamer.
Defenders – Kyle Bratton, Sr. Kentridge; Sam Pizot, Sr. Camas; Austin Horner, Sr. Skyview; Calvin Goon, Sr. Camas.
Goalkeeper – Jon Rosas, Sr. Pasco.

Class 3A
MVP – Wallis Lapsley, Jr. Goal Keeper – Lakeside
Coach of the Year – Mark Szabo – Lakeside
First Team
Forwards – Ramiro Chavez, Sr. Kennewick; Chris Iacolucci, Sr. Shorecrest; Gaby Joseph, Sr. Lakeside; William Economy, Sr. Bainbridge.
Midfielders – Grayden Saunders, Jr. Glacier Peak; Colton Ronk, Sr. Liberty; Jose Ramos, Sr. Foss; Francisco Mendiola-Lopez, Sr. Shelton.
Defenders – Tyler John, Sr. Bonney Lake; Justin Collins, Sr. Shorewood; Matt Johnston, Sr. Glacier Peak; Arthur McCray, Lakeside; Jake Degagne, sr. Kennedy Catholic.
Goalkeeper – Wallis Lapsley, Jr. Lakeside; Leyton Thommasen, Sr. Kennedy Catholic.
Second Team
Forwards – Laurence Wanambisi, Sr. Stanwood; Christian Chavez, Jr. Sunnyside; Mario Zarate, Sr. Hanford; Jared Berg, Mountainview.
Midfielders – Alex Day, Jr. Shorecrest; Sean Bender, Sr. Mercer Island; Dalton Ogdon, Sr. Bonney Lake; Isaac Sterver, Mountainview.
Defenders –Kelly Smith, Sr. Hanford; Mark Harris, Sr. Seattle Prep; Corey Stever, Jr. Shorecrest; Hector Cervantes, Soph. Hazen.
Goalkeeper – Robert Powles, Sr. Mt. Spokane.
Honorable Mention
Forwards – Ryan Hill, Jr. Mercer Island; Fabian Panduro-Galvan, Sr. Marysville-Pilchuk; Connor Williams, Jr. Mt. Si; Brody Fitzsimmons, Sr. Bonney Lake.
Midfielders – Oswald Ramos, Sr. Wilson; Joseph Ghirardo, Sr. Hanford; Dylan Collins, Sr. Shorewood; Jonathan Coon, Sr. Shorecrest.
Defenders – Scott Scheerer, Sr. Wilson; Marcos Borja, Sr. Kennewick; Jacob Meza, Sr. Sunnyside; Chase Lauinger, Sr. Stanwood.
Goalkeeper – Lucas MacMillan, Sr. Glacier Peak.

Class 2A
MVP – Mack Smith, Forward – Fife
Coach of the Year – Joe McAuliffe – Squalicum
First Team
Forwards – Mack Smith, Jr. Fife; Mitchell Pinney, Jr. Hockinson; Christian Thode, Sr. Archbishop Murphy; Christian Chala, Sr. Squalicum; Ian Schimandle, Sr. Cheney.
Midfielders – Brady Henderson, Soph. Archbishop Murphy; Brenan Ball, Sr. Selah; Micah Weller, Sr. Cheney; Raul DeLuna, North Kitsap; Brett Sparks, Sr. Hockinson.
Defenders – Tyler Ptacek, Sr. Archbishop Murphy; Tommy Nitchman, Kingston; Daniel Pailthorp, Sr. Capital; Kyle Morris, Sr. Ridgefield.
Goalkeeper – Oliver Sanchez, Sr. Toppenish; Jakob Racimo, Sr. Capital.
Second Team
Forwards – Nigel El-Sokkary, Soph. Capital; Utsav Shaha, North Kitsap; Edgar Garcia, Sr. Fife.
Midfielders – Trevan Esterlado, Sr Cheney; Jason Rodriguez, Sr. Othello; Adama Kante, Jr. Tyee; Tyler Hughes, Fr. Squalicum.
Defenders – Alex Hernandez, Kingston; James Bettag, Sr. Archbishop Murphy; Isaias Villa, Sr. Elllensburg; Hans Kogan, Sr. Squalicum; Obeb Camacho, Jr. Sedro-Woolley.
Goalkeeper –Hector Gutierrez, Jr. Lynden.
Honorable Mention
Forwards – Jalal Haji, Jr. Foster; Servando Fuentes, Sr. Toppenish; Casey Duff, Jr. Black Hills; Danny Wiseman, North Mason.
Midfielders – Zander Knox, Sr. Lake Washington; Jonathan Cano, Jr. Franklin Pierce; Ousmane Sylla, Soph. Fife.
Defenders – Nathan Gunderson, Sr. Hockinson; Alan Haagen, Sr. Hockinson; Cruz Galm, Jr. Cheney.
Goalkeeper – Alex Worland, Kingston.

Class 1A
MVP – Francisco Alejandrez, Forward – Quincy
Coach of the Year – Arturo Guerrero – Quincy
First Team
Forwards –Taylor Moe, Sr. King’s; Francisco Alejandrez, Soph, Quincy; Jason Perez, Sr. Okanogan.
Midfielders – Osiel Rivera, Sr. Hoquiam; Gabe Rifkin, Sr. University Prep; Ryan Fransen, Jr. King’s; Vicente Zepeda, Sr. Quincy.
Defenders – Rick Hatate, Jr. Bellevue Christian; Julio Vera, Sr. Chelan; Juan Garcia, Sr. Chelan; Pedro Reyes, Sr. Quincy.
Goalkeeper – Alan Caro, Sr. Wahluke.
Second Team
Forwards – Adair Garibay, Soph, Toledo-Winlock; Riley Brown, Jr. Bellevue Christian; Nick Iregui, Fr. Charles Wright.
Midfielders – Bennett Close, Jr. Bellevue Christian; John Polen, Sr. Seton Catholic; Will Noce-Sheldon, Jr. Seton Catholic; David Paniagua, Jr. Highland.
Defenders – Christian Pedersen, Jr. Lakeside; Josh Alexander, Jr. King’s; Barry Bishop, Jr. University Prep; Konan Katzer, Jr. Elma.
Goalkeeper – David Postma, Soph, Bellevue Christian.
Honorable Mention
Forwards – Justin Rivas, Sr. Okanogan; Blaine Thompson, Sr. University Prep; Kai Da Rosa, Jr. South Whidbey.
Midfielders – Joe Eaton, Jr. Bellevue Christian; Ramon Bravo, Sr. Wahluke; Trent Siedenburg, Jr. Seattle Christian; Miguel Leyva, Manson.
Defenders –Travis Sowell, Sr. Charles Wright; Grant Young, Soph. Charles Wright; Josh Polen, Soph. Seton Catholic; Josh Brown, Sr. Seattle Academy; Elan Markowitz, Sr. Seattle Academy.
Goalkeeper – Lars Helleren, Fr. King’s



No personal attacks or insults, no hate speech, no profanity. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate this thread by reporting any abuse. See our Commenting FAQ.

The opinions expressed in reader comments are those of the author only, and do not reflect the opinions of The Seattle Times.

The Seattle Times

The door is closed, but it's not locked.

Take a minute to subscribe and continue to enjoy The Seattle Times for as little as 99 cents a week.

Subscription options ►

Already a subscriber?

We've got good news for you. Unlimited content access is included with most subscriptions.

Subscriber login ►
The Seattle Times

To keep reading, you need a subscription upgrade.

We hope you have enjoyed your complimentary access. For unlimited access, please upgrade your digital subscription.

Call customer service at 1.800.542.0820 for assistance with your upgrade or questions about your subscriber status.

The Seattle Times

To keep reading, you need a subscription.

We hope you have enjoyed your complimentary access. Subscribe now for unlimited access!

Subscription options ►

Already a subscriber?

We've got good news for you. Unlimited content access is included with most subscriptions.

Activate Subscriber Account ►