Follow us:

Hot Stone League

Larry Stone gives his take on a wide array of baseball issues and weighs in about the Mariners, too.

October 29, 2012 at 9:30 AM

Brendan Ryan, Dustin Ackley are Gold Glove finalists

Brendan Ryan and Dustin Ackley of the Mariners are Gold Glove finalists at their position, with the winners announced tomorrow during the Gold Glove Awards Show, televised on ESPN2 at 6:30 p.m. Pacific time.

Fresh off winning a Fielding Bible award last week, Ryan is one of three finalists at shortstop, along with Elvis Andrus of Texas and J.J. Hardy of Baltimore. Ackley joins Dustin Pedroia of Boston and Robinson Cano of the Yankees as a finalist at second base. Neither player has ever won a Gold Glove.

Erick Aybar of the Angels, last year’s Gold Glove winner at shortstop, is not a finalist, nor is Derek Jeter, who won the two years before that. Pedroia was the Gold Glove winner at second base in 2011, Cano in 2010. Pedroia also won in 2008, while none of the shortstop finalists has ever won a Gold Glove.

Last year’s finalists at shorstop were Aybar, Hardy and Asdrubal Cabrera. The finalists at second base were Pedroia, Cano and Ian Kinsler. That was the first time that finalists were named and the awards given out in a televised show.

Last year, the Mariners had their 24-year streak of Gold Glove winners (dating back to 1987) snapped, but I think there’s a very strong chance that Ryan will win this year. Ackley would be a longer shot, but you never know.

Gold Gloves are selected by a vote of managers and coaches, who can’t vote for players from their own team. After the show, fans can vote on for the Platinum Glove Award, given to the best defensive player in each league. The winners will be announced at the Rawlings Gold Glove Awards Dinner on Nov. 9, in New York City.

The Mariners tied for the American League lead with a .988 fielding percentage, second-best in club history. The middle-infield combo of Ryan and Ackley saved 38 runs, according to Baseball Info Services, most by any middle-infield combo in the major leagues.

Ryan, distinguished by the Fielding Bible Awards as the single best defender in baseball, led all major league shortstops with 27 defensive runs saved the second most among any position players.

Ackley, in his first full major-league season at second base after converting from outfield and first base in college, tied for third among AL second basemen with 11 runs saved. He made just seven errors in 142 starts at second base for a .989 fielding percentage.

Here are the finalists:

American League:

P Jeremy Hellickson Tampa Bay Rays

Jake Peavy Chicago White Sox

C.J. Wilson Los Angeles Angels

C Alex Avila Detroit Tigers

Russell Martin New York Yankees

A.J. Pierzynski Chicago White Sox

Matt Wieters Baltimore Orioles

1B Adrian Gonzalez Boston Red Sox

Eric Hosmer Kansas City Royals

Mark Teixeira New York Yankees

2B Dustin Ackley Seattle Mariners

Robinson Cano New York Yankees

Dustin Pedroia Boston Red Sox

3B Adrian Beltre Texas Rangers

Brandon Inge Oakland Athletics

Mike Moustakas Kansas City Royals

SS Elvis Andrus Texas Rangers

J.J. Hardy Baltimore Orioles

Brendan Ryan Seattle Mariners

LF Alex Gordon Kansas City Royals

Desmond Jennings Tampa Bay Rays

David Murphy Texas Rangers

CF Austin Jackson Detroit Tigers

Adam Jones Baltimore Orioles

Mike Trout Los Angeles Angels

RF Shin-Soo Choo Cleveland Indians

Jeff Francoeur Kansas City Royals

Josh Reddick Oakland Athletics

National League:

P Bronson Arroyo Cincinnati Reds

Mark Buehrle Miami Marlins

Clayton Kershaw Los Angeles Dodgers

C Yadier Molina St. Louis Cardinals

Miguel Montero Arizona Diamondbacks

Carlos Ruiz Philadelphia Phillies

1B Freddie Freeman Atlanta Braves

Adam LaRoche Washington Nationals

Joey Votto Cincinnati Reds

2B Darwin Barney Chicago Cubs

Aaron Hill Arizona Diamondbacks

Brandon Phillips Cincinnati Reds

3B Chase Headley San Diego Padres

Aramis Ramirez Milwaukee Brewers

David Wright New York Mets

SS Zack Cozart Cincinnati Reds

Ian Desmond Washington Nationals

Jose Reyes Miami Marlins

Jimmy Rollins Philadelphia Phillies

LF Ryan Braun Milwaukee Brewers

Carlos Gonzalez Colorado Rockies

Martin Prado Atlanta Braves

CF Michael Bourn Atlanta Braves

Andrew McCutchen Pittsburgh Pirates

Drew Stubbs Cincinnati Reds

RF Jay Bruce Cincinnati Reds

Andre Ethier Los Angeles Dodgers

Jason Heyward Atlanta Braves



No personal attacks or insults, no hate speech, no profanity. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate this thread by reporting any abuse. See our Commenting FAQ.

The opinions expressed in reader comments are those of the author only, and do not reflect the opinions of The Seattle Times.

The Seattle Times

The door is closed, but it's not locked.

Take a minute to subscribe and continue to enjoy The Seattle Times for as little as 99 cents a week.

Subscription options ►

Already a subscriber?

We've got good news for you. Unlimited content access is included with most subscriptions.

Subscriber login ►
The Seattle Times

To keep reading, you need a subscription upgrade.

We hope you have enjoyed your complimentary access. For unlimited access, please upgrade your digital subscription.

Call customer service at 1.800.542.0820 for assistance with your upgrade or questions about your subscriber status.

The Seattle Times

To keep reading, you need a subscription.

We hope you have enjoyed your complimentary access. Subscribe now for unlimited access!

Subscription options ►

Already a subscriber?

We've got good news for you. Unlimited content access is included with most subscriptions.

Activate Subscriber Account ►