Follow us:

Husky Football Blog

The latest news and analysis on the Montlake Dawgs.

December 14, 2006 at 11:28 AM

USC tandem win Morris trophies

Here’s some news from the Pac-10 conference that helps explain why the Huskies have struggled the way they have the last few years.
You’ll note that no Husky has won the Morris Trophy since Chad Ward in 2000, not so coincidentally, the last time UW won a conference title.
Here’s the official release:
WALNUT CREEK, Calif.–Nose tackle Sedrick Ellis and center Ryan Kalil of USC have been named winners of the 27th annual Morris Trophy. It marks just the fourth time in 27 years, and the first time since 1991, that the offensive and defensive winners have come from the same school.
The Morris Trophy is a unique award given to the outstanding offensive and defensive linemen in the Pacific-10 Conference. What makes the award unique is the selection procedure, which has the starting offensive linemen in the Conference voting for the defensive winner and vice versa. It is truly a players award.
Ellis, a 6-foot-1, 295-pound junior from Chino, Calif., was the rock in the middle of the USC defense that played a key role in the Trojans’ 10-2 regular-season record that led to a Rose Bowl berth. With Ellis in the middle of the line, USC led the Pac-10 in both scoring defense (14.9 points per game) and total defense (293.8 yards per game). A two-year starter and a first-team All-Pac-10 selection this year, Ellis missed three early games with a knee injury, but still posted 28 tackles, including six tackles for loss and 3.5 quarterback sacks, broke up two tackles, recovered two fumbles and blocked a kick. While USC has had nine offensive linemen win the Morris Trophy, Ellis becomes just the third Trojan defensive lineman to be voted the award and the first since 1995.
Kalil, a 6-foot-3, 285-pound senior from Corona, Calif., has started at center for USC the last three seasons and has been voted first-team All-Pac-10 Conference by the head football coaches the last two years. He was the only unanimous pick by the coaches on the offensive line this year and has been named a second-team All-America selection. He started every game this year on an offensive unit that averaged 30.3 points per game. The Trojan offensive line allowed only 16 quarterback sacks all season. Long known for its offensive linemen, USC has taken the offensive side of the Morris Trophy nine times in 27 years.
Ellis and Kalil will be presented their awards at a luncheon at the prestigious Washington Athletic Club in Seattle on January 18, 2007. The Morris Trophy is sponsored by the Morris Family of Woodway, Wash., and the Washington Athletic Club.
Previous Morris Trophy Winners
Year Offense Defense
1980 Roy Foster, USC Vince Goldsmith, Oregon
1981 Roy Foster, USC Fletcher Jenkins, Washington
1982 Bruce Matthews, USC George Achica, USC
1983 Gary Zimmerman, Oregon Keith Millard, Washington State
1984 Dan Lynch, Washington State Ron Holmes, Washington
1985 Jeff Bregel, USC Erik Howard, Washington State
1986 Danny Villa, Arizona State Reggie Rogers, Washington
1987 Randall McDaniel, Arizona State Dana Wells, Arizona
1988 Joe Tofflemire, Arizona Dana Wells, Arizona
1989 Bern Brostek, Washington Esera Tuaolo, Oregon State
1990 Pat Harlow, USC Steve Emtman, Washington
1991 Lincoln Kennedy, Washington Steve Emtman, Washington
1992 Lincoln Kennedy, Washington Rob Waldrop, Arizona
1993 Todd Steussie, California DMarco Farr, Washington
1994 Tony Boselli, USC Chad Eaton, Washington State
1995 Jonathan Ogden, UCLA Tedy Bruschi, Arizona
1996 Bob Sapp, Washington Darrell Russell, USC
1997 Olin Kreutz, Washington Jeremy Staat, Arizona State
1998 Yusuf Scott, Arizona Inoke Breckterfield, Oregon State
1999 Travis Claridge, USC Willie Howard, Stanford
2000 Chad Ward, Washington Andre Carter, California
2001 Levi Jones, Arizona State Kenyon Coleman, UCLA
2002 Kwame Harris, Stanford Terrell Suggs, Arizona State
2003 Jacob Rogers, USC Dave Ball, UCLA
2004 Adam Snyder, Oregon Bill Swancutt, Oregon State
2005 Ryan O’Callaghan, California Haloti Ngata, Oregon
2006 Ryan Kalil, USC Sedrick Ellis, USC



No personal attacks or insults, no hate speech, no profanity. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate this thread by reporting any abuse. See our Commenting FAQ.

The opinions expressed in reader comments are those of the author only, and do not reflect the opinions of The Seattle Times.

The Seattle Times

The door is closed, but it's not locked.

Take a minute to subscribe and continue to enjoy The Seattle Times for as little as 99 cents a week.

Subscription options ►

Already a subscriber?

We've got good news for you. Unlimited content access is included with most subscriptions.

Subscriber login ►
The Seattle Times

To keep reading, you need a subscription upgrade.

We hope you have enjoyed your complimentary access. For unlimited access, please upgrade your digital subscription.

Call customer service at 1.800.542.0820 for assistance with your upgrade or questions about your subscriber status.

The Seattle Times

To keep reading, you need a subscription.

We hope you have enjoyed your complimentary access. Subscribe now for unlimited access!

Subscription options ►

Already a subscriber?

We've got good news for you. Unlimited content access is included with most subscriptions.

Activate Subscriber Account ►