Follow us:

Husky Football Blog

The latest news and analysis on the Montlake Dawgs.

December 9, 2012 at 6:48 PM

Huskies announce season awards —- Trufant wins Guy Flaherty Award


The Washington Huskies held their end-of-season banquet tonight, at which it announced its various awards.

Taking home the most prestigious honor was senior cornerback Desmond Trufant, who won the Guy Flaherty Award, given to the team’s Most Inspirational Player as voted on by the players.

Trufant (pictured at right against Oregon State earlier this season in a John Lok photo) also was named the team’s defensive Most Valuable Player. Winning honors as the offensive MVP was tight end Austin Seferian-Jenkins while safety Justin Glenn was named the special teams MVP.

Here is a release from the school with the full list of honorees:

Senior cornerback Desmond Trufant won the 105th Guy Flaherty Award, the Washington football program’s oldest and most prestigious team award, and was also named the Sports Radio 950 KJR Defensive MVP, while Austin Seferian-Jenkins and Justin Glenn won offensive and special teams MVP honors, respectively, at the Husky football team’s postseason awards presentation. The event, which included coaches, players, family and fans, was held Sunday afternoon at Alaska Airlines Arena.

Trufant, a senior from Tacoma, is a four-year starter at cornerback and served as a captain in 2012. After the season, he earned first-team All-Pac-12 and second-team All-America honors. The Flaherty Award, voted on by the players, was first awarded in 1908 and is given to the team’s most inspirational player.

Seferian-Jenkins, a sophomore from Fox Island, Wash., has already set UW career records for receptions, receiving yards and touchdowns by a tight end. In 2012, he earned second-team All-Pac-12 and third-team All-America after catching 63 passes for 789 yards and six TDs.

Glenn is a fifth-year senior from Mukilteo, Wash., who started 10 games at safety in 2012. Named as the special teams MVP, he posted 66 tackles and had three interceptions during the season, earning honorable mention All-Pac-12.

Sophomore defensive end Andrew Hudson (Redlands, Calif.) won the L. Wait Rising Defensive Lineman of the Year Award while redshirt-freshman offensive guard Dexter Charles (Camano Island, Wash.) won the John P. Angel Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Junior safety Sean Parker (Los Angeles) was honored with the Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award while sophomore tailback Bishop Sankey (Spokane, Wash.), who rushed for 1,234 yards during the regular season, picked up the Earle T. Glant Tough Husky Award.

The Travis Spring Outstanding Freshman Award winner was true freshman safety Shaq Thompson (Sacramento, Calif.), and the Husky Fever 12th Man Award was presented to sophomore receiver Kasen Williams (Sammamish, Wash.). Senior center Drew Schaefer (Sammamish, Wash.) took home the 101 Club Academic Achievement Award while sophomore nose tackle Danny Shelton (Auburn, Wash.) was honored with the Academic Achievement Award.

The Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad Player of the Year went to freshman quarterback Jeff Lindquist (Mercer Island, Wash.). Sophomore defensive lineman Drew Schultz (Olympia, Wash.) was named winner of the Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad Player of the Year. The Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad Player of the Year Award was presented to freshman cornerback Cleveland Wallace (San Jose, Calif.).

Hudson, sophomore receiver DiAndre Campbell (Oakland, Calif.) and freshman fullback Psalm Wooching (Kailua-Kona, Hawai’i) picked up weightlifting awards.

Senior defensive lineman Semisi Tokolahi (Hilo, Hawai’i) was presented with the Don James Perseverance Award and senior wide receiver Cody Bruns (Prosser, Wash.) was named winner of the Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award.

Finally, three student staff members were presented with the Kurt Gegner Memorial Award: Mac Cahill (equipment), Reid Mayfield (video) and Meghan Barrington (training).

The Huskies return to the practice field Thursday and, next Monday, travel to Las Vegas for the MAACO Bowl, where they’ll take on Boise State on Dec. 22.



No personal attacks or insults, no hate speech, no profanity. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate this thread by reporting any abuse. See our Commenting FAQ.

The opinions expressed in reader comments are those of the author only, and do not reflect the opinions of The Seattle Times.

The Seattle Times

The door is closed, but it's not locked.

Take a minute to subscribe and continue to enjoy The Seattle Times for as little as 99 cents a week.

Subscription options ►

Already a subscriber?

We've got good news for you. Unlimited content access is included with most subscriptions.

Subscriber login ►
The Seattle Times

To keep reading, you need a subscription upgrade.

We hope you have enjoyed your complimentary access. For unlimited access, please upgrade your digital subscription.

Call customer service at 1.800.542.0820 for assistance with your upgrade or questions about your subscriber status.

The Seattle Times

To keep reading, you need a subscription.

We hope you have enjoyed your complimentary access. Subscribe now for unlimited access!

Subscription options ►

Already a subscriber?

We've got good news for you. Unlimited content access is included with most subscriptions.

Activate Subscriber Account ►