Follow us:

Seahawks Blog

The latest news and analysis from all angles on the Seahawks.

August 7, 2014 at 6:55 PM

Seattle Seahawks game suspended by lightning strike UPDATED

Seattle’s pre-season opening game at Denver was suspended with 1:30 remaining in the first quarter Thursday night due to a lightning strike that fell within an eight-mile radius of Sports Authority Field at Mile High Stadium.

The game was suspended at 6:42 Seattle time (7:42 Denver time) as the Seahawks readied for their second offensive series following a Denver touchdown that put the Broncos ahead 7-0.

It was the second time in less than a calendar year that the Seahawks had a game suspended by lightning.

A home game against the 49ers last Sept. 15 was suspended for roughly an hour.

It was expected that the game would resume at 8:15 Denver time (7:15 in Seattle).

UPDATE — At 8:13 Denver time (7:13 Seattle time) it was announced that there were still lightning strikes in the area and the game was being delayed indefinitely.

UPDATE — At 8:16 Denver time (7:16 Seattle time) it was announced the game would resume at 8:30 p.m.

UPDATE — The game resumed at 8:27 Denver time, a delay of 45 minutes.

COMMENTS

No personal attacks or insults, no hate speech, no profanity. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate this thread by reporting any abuse. See our Commenting FAQ.



The opinions expressed in reader comments are those of the author only, and do not reflect the opinions of The Seattle Times.


Advertising
The Seattle Times

The door is closed, but it's not locked.

Take a minute to subscribe and continue to enjoy The Seattle Times for as little as 99 cents a week.

Subscription options ►

Already a subscriber?

We've got good news for you. Unlimited seattletimes.com content access is included with most subscriptions.

Subscriber login ►
The Seattle Times

To keep reading, you need a subscription upgrade.

We hope you have enjoyed your complimentary access. For unlimited seattletimes.com access, please upgrade your digital subscription.

Call customer service at 1.800.542.0820 for assistance with your upgrade or questions about your subscriber status.

The Seattle Times

To keep reading, you need a subscription.

We hope you have enjoyed your complimentary access. Subscribe now for unlimited access!

Subscription options ►

Already a subscriber?

We've got good news for you. Unlimited seattletimes.com content access is included with most subscriptions.

Activate Subscriber Account ►