Follow us:

Sounders FC

Daily coverage of Seattle Sounders FC, MLS and world soccer.

October 27, 2010 at 3:50 PM

Finalists for MLS Awards announced — Sounders shut out

A release from the league recently popped into the inbox announcing the top three finalists for each individual MLS award. Interestingly enough, no one from Sounders FC was listed — not even James Riley for Humanitarian of the Year, which I find shocking.

Here are the people I voted for (including short explanations):

* * *

MVP: Chris Wondolowski, San Jose Earthquakes

The league’s Golden Boot winner with 18 goals elevated a mediocre side to a playoff team. Has scored San Jose’s last 10 goals, which is a number I find remarkable.

Newcomer of the Year: Alvaro Saborio, Real Salt Lake

What a pick up for the defending champs. He’s scored a lot of goals. He’s scored timely goals. Edges out New York midfielder Joel Lindpere in my estimation.

Coach of the Year: Schellas Hyndman, FC Dallas

So many quality candidates throughout the league in this category — typified by Arena and Schmid not making the final three. I think Hyndman did the most with the least.

Rookie of the Year: Andy Najar, D.C. United

Another loaded field, but this young kid was phenomenal. Absolutely electrifying for a dreadful team. Just imagine if he had talent around him and pieces to combine with.

Defender of the Year: Jamison Olave, Real Salt Lake

An RSL player has to win this award after the record-breaking performance this season. I rate Olave just slightly over Borchers from what I’ve seen. Has a couple goals too.

Goalkeeper of the Year: Nick Rimando, Real Salt Lake

Ricketts fell off at the end of the season for me. Hartman, while a phenomenal story, didn’t play enough in my opinion. Rimando was extremely consistent and reliable.

Comeback Player of the Year: Bobby Convey, San Jose Earthquakes

Granted, I don’t know much about all these candidates back stories, but Convey had an excellent year and was one of the better playmakers around of the league.

Referee of the Year: Baldomero Toledo

Officials are best judged when they’re anonymous. Of the three finalists, I’ve heard the least amount of complaints for Toledo.

Humanitarian of the Year: James Riley, Sounders FC

The Seattle defender didn’t make the final three, but he got my vote and I think he’s extremely deserving. Here’s a link to a story that details some of the work he’s done.

Fair Play Award: Sebastian Le Toux, Philadelphia Union

Not only did the ex-Sounder have a phenomenal year, but he’s always played the game the right way — both in terms of effort and fair play.

Let me know what you think. Here’s the release with the finalists:

* * *

2010 MLS Awards Finalists & Announcement Schedule

NEW YORK (Wednesday, Oct. 27, 2010) – Major League Soccer today announced the finalists for its 2010 year-end awards. Winners for each award will be announced in the coming weeks.

The finalists, listed in alphabetical order below for each award, earned the most votes in polling of MLS players, general managers, coaches, referees and members of the media.

This season’s most outstanding individual plays will be honored on Wednesday, Nov. 17 when the AT&T Goal of the Year and the NAPA Auto Parts Save of the Year are announced. Voting for the Goal and Save of the Year is conducted on the League’s official web site

The 2010 awards announcements, listed below the finalists, culminate on Friday, Nov. 19 with the unveiling of the 2010 MLS Volkswagen MVP and 2010 Commissioner’s Award.

2010 Major League Soccer Awards Finalists

Goalkeeper of the Year Finalists

Kevin Hartman (FC Dallas)

Donovan Ricketts (LA Galaxy)

Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Fair Play Finalists – Individual

C.J. Brown (Chicago Fire)

Sebastien Le Toux (Philadelphia Union)

Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Comeback Player of the Year Finalists

Chris Albright (New York Red Bulls)

Bobby Convey (San Jose Earthquakes)

Brek Shea (FC Dallas)

Visa Defender of the Year Finalists

Nat Borchers (Real Salt Lake)

Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy)

Jamison Olave (Real Salt Lake)

MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitarian of the Year Finalists

Brian Ching (Houston Dynamo)

Jimmy Conrad (Kansas City Wizards)

Seth Stammler (New York Red Bulls)

adidas Referee of the Year Finalists

Mark Geiger

Kevin Stott

Baldomero Toledo

Rookie of the Year Finalists

Danny Mwanga (Philadelphia Union)

Andy Najar (D.C. United)

Tim Ream (New York Red Bulls)

Coach of the Year Finalists

Hans Backe (New York Red Bulls)

Schellas Hyndman (FC Dallas)

Jason Kreis (Real Salt Lake)

Newcomer of the Year Finalists

Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls)

Joel Lindpere (New York Red Bulls)

Alvaro Saborio (Real Salt Lake)

Volkswagen Most Valuable Player Finalists

Edson Buddle (LA Galaxy)

David Ferreira (FC Dallas)

Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Awards Announcements Schedule:

Schedule subject to change

November 3: Rookie of the Year, Fair Play Individual & Team of the Year, and Goalkeeper of the Year

November 5: Visa Defender and adidas Referee/Assistant Referee of the Year

November 8: MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitarian of the Year

November 10: Newcomer and Comeback Player of the Year

November 11: MLS Coach of the Year

November 15: 2010 MLS Best XI

November 17: AT&T Goal of the Year and NAPA Auto Parts Save of the Year

November 19: Volkswagen MVP & Commissioner’s Award


No personal attacks or insults, no hate speech, no profanity. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate this thread by reporting any abuse. See our Commenting FAQ.

The opinions expressed in reader comments are those of the author only, and do not reflect the opinions of The Seattle Times.

The Seattle Times

The door is closed, but it's not locked.

Take a minute to subscribe and continue to enjoy The Seattle Times for as little as 99 cents a week.

Subscription options ►

Already a subscriber?

We've got good news for you. Unlimited content access is included with most subscriptions.

Subscriber login ►
The Seattle Times

To keep reading, you need a subscription upgrade.

We hope you have enjoyed your complimentary access. For unlimited access, please upgrade your digital subscription.

Call customer service at 1.800.542.0820 for assistance with your upgrade or questions about your subscriber status.

The Seattle Times

To keep reading, you need a subscription.

We hope you have enjoyed your complimentary access. Subscribe now for unlimited access!

Subscription options ►

Already a subscriber?

We've got good news for you. Unlimited content access is included with most subscriptions.

Activate Subscriber Account ►