403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

Follow us:
403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden


Sounders FC

Daily coverage of Seattle Sounders FC, MLS and world soccer.

November 15, 2011 at 9:31 AM

Kasey Keller named MLS Goalkeeper of the Year

keller mug.jpgThis is no surprise, really.

After Sounders FC goalkeeper Kasey Keller was named to the MLS Best XI last week, it was almost a certainty that he’d win MLS Goalkeeper of the Year as well. The formality became official Tuesday in an announcement from the league.

“Kasey had a superb season, finishing his career at such a high level is a reflection of his professionalism and high standards,” said Sounders FC coach Sigi Schmid in a news release. “The game will miss him and we are proud that he was a Seattle Sounder.”

Keller, an Olympia native, swept the player vote (17.39-percent), media vote (26.98) and club vote (29.59). Philadelphia Union goalkeeper Faryd Mondragon finished runner up and second in each category — 14.91, 18.52, 16.33, respectively.

FC Dallas’ Kevin Hartman finished third, followed by Real Salt Lake’s Nick Rimando and Chivas USA’s Dan Kennedy.

I’m not sure you need convincing of Keller’s qualification, but he played every MLS minute this season as Seattle finished with the second-best record. He won a league-high 18 games and his 76-percent save percentage was the best of all starting goalkeepers. The recent retiree recorded nine shutouts, made a career-high 110 saves and had a 1.09 goals-against average.

“It was a great year and I’m proud that I was able to perform at the level in my final year that I hoped to achieve,” said Keller in the release. “Anytime you receive an award it’s always nice that someone has thought of you in that regard. I have never played the game for the awards but it’s nice to be recognized by your peers.”

An MLS All-Star. MLS Best XI. MLS Goalkeeper of the Year. Not a bad way to go out, eh?

Previous winners after the jump…

* * *

MLS Goalkeeper of the Year Winners:

2011: Kasey Keller – Seattle Sounders FC

2010: Donovan Ricketts – LA Galaxy

2009: Zach Thornton – Chivas USA

2008: Jon Busch – Chicago Fire

2007: Brad Guzan – Chivas USA

2006: Troy Perkins – D.C. United

2005: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes

2004: Joe Cannon – Colorado Rapids

2003: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes

2002: Joe Cannon – San Jose Earthquakes

2001: Tim Howard – MetroStars

2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards

1999: Kevin Hartman – Los Angeles Galaxy

1998: Zach Thornton – Chicago Fire

1997: Brad Friedel – Columbus Crew

1996: Mark Dodd – Dallas Burn


No personal attacks or insults, no hate speech, no profanity. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate this thread by reporting any abuse. See our Commenting FAQ.

The opinions expressed in reader comments are those of the author only, and do not reflect the opinions of The Seattle Times.

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden