403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

Follow us:
403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden


Sounders FC

Daily coverage of Seattle Sounders FC, MLS and world soccer.

November 18, 2011 at 7:48 AM

D.C.’s De Rosario easily wins MLS MVP, Rosales fifth

D.C. United Logo.jpgIn the end, it wasn’t even close.

The MLS MVP award was a hot topic at the end of the season with seemingly a dozen potential candidates, but D.C. United’s Dwayne De Rosario ultimately ran away with it.

The veteran midfielder had 16 goals and 12 assists this season and swept all three voting categories, capturing the club vote (20.43-percent), the media vote (25.91) and player vote (26.38).

Houston’s Brad Davis finished second, followed by FC Dallas’ Brek Shea, Landon Donovan of the Los Angeles Galaxy and Sounders FC’s Mauro Rosales.

This is the first MVP award for DeRo, who was a finalist in 2005 and 2006. He won the Golden Boot this year and made it on the Best XI for a record sixth time. After also spending time with Toronto FC and the New York Red Bulls in 2011, he became the first player in MLS history to score for three teams in one season. He’s also the first player in North American sports history to win MVP after playing for three teams (only Joe Thornton of the NHL had won MVP after being traded midseason).

The note above, and the fact that De Rosario is also the first MLS MVP on a non-playoff team, makes it a bit of a controversial pick for some. I voted for DeRo has more of a de facto Player of the Year award, not so much because of the “value,” though I’m sure many of you disagree. In a season with seemingly a lot of even performances, I thought his was the only one that stood out (and clearly so did the rest of the voters).

Previous winners are listed after the jump.

What do you think of the decision?

* * *

MVP Winners

2011: Dwayne De Rosario – D.C. United

2010: David Ferreira – FC Dallas

2009: Landon Donovan – LA Galaxy

2008: Guillermo Barros Schelotto – Columbus Crew

2007: Luciano Emilio – D.C. United

2006: Christian Gomez – D.C. United

2005: Taylor Twellman – New England Revolution

2004: Amado Guevara – MetroStars

2003: Preki – Kansas City Wizards

2002: Carlos Ruiz – Los Angeles Galaxy

2001: Alex Pineda Chacon – Miami Fusion

2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards

1999: Jason Kreis – Dallas Burn

1998: Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United

1997: Preki – Kansas City Wizards

1996: Carlos Valderrama – Tampa Bay Mutiny


No personal attacks or insults, no hate speech, no profanity. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate this thread by reporting any abuse. See our Commenting FAQ.

The opinions expressed in reader comments are those of the author only, and do not reflect the opinions of The Seattle Times.

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden