403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

Follow us:
403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden


Sounders FC

Daily coverage of Seattle Sounders FC, MLS and world soccer.

November 20, 2012 at 8:58 AM

Sporting KC’s Matt Besler voted Defender of the Year; Silviu Petrescu named top referee

MLS Logo.jpgMore MLS postseason awards were announced Tuesday morning, and Sporting Kansas City’s Matt Besler has been named Defender of the Year.

This was a close race as Besler edged San Jose’s Victor Bernardez with a 70.51-64.39 margin in weighted voting total.

Besler, who led a defense that allowed a league-low 27 goals, dominated the media vote with 46.97 percent, earning just 10.35 of the club vote and 13.19 of the player vote. Bernardez took 15.15, 32.76 and 16.48 in those same respective categories.

Sporting KC teammate Aurelien Collin finished third in the award with 48.13 of the weighted vote. Vancouver’s Jay DeMerit was fourth (22.85) and Philadelphia’s Carlos Valdes took fifth (15.85).

Sounders FC’s Jeff Parke and Chicago’s Arne Friedrich were notables not in the top five.

A couple other awards were announced, too, as Silviu Petrescu was named Referee of the Year. He finished with 34.55 percent of the club vote, 50 percent of the media vote and 36.78 from the players for a total of 121.33.

Baldomero Toledo carried the club vote at 38.18 but finished second with a 99.21 weighted total. Armando Villarreal was third at 79.45.

Lastly, Ian Anderson was named the top assistant referee with 116.31 of the weighted total, over Gregory Barkey (109.66) and Corey Parker (74.03).

I’ll post lists of previous winners in these categories after the jump…

MLS Defender of the Year

2012: Matt Besler – Sporting Kansas City

2011: Omar Gonzalez – LA Galaxy

2010: Jamison Olave – Real Salt Lake

2009: Chad Marshall – Columbus Crew

2008: Chad Marshall – Columbus Crew

2007: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution

2006: Bobby Boswell – D.C. United

2005: Jimmy Conrad – Kansas City Wizards

2004: Robin Fraser – Columbus Crew

2003: Carlos Bocanegra – Chicago Fire

2002: Carlos Bocanegra – Chicago Fire

2001: Jeff Agoos – San Jose Earthquakes

2000: Peter Vermes – Kansas City Wizards

1999: Robin Fraser – Los Angeles Galaxy

1998: Lubos Kubik – Chicago Fire

1997: Eddie Pope – D.C. United

1996: John Doyle – San Jose Earthquakes

Referee of the Year

2012: Silviu Petrescu

2011: Mark Geiger

2010: Kevin Stott

2009: Alex Prus

2008: Jair Marrufo

2007: Brian Hall

2006: Brian Hall

2005: Brian Hall

2004: Abiodun ‘Abbey’ Okulaja

2003: Brian Hall

2002: Kevin Terry

2001: Paul Tamberino

2000: Paul Tamberino

1999: Paul Tamberino

1998: Paul Tamberino

1997: Esse Baharmast

Assistant Referee of the Year

2012: Ian Anderson

2011: Corey Rockwell

2010: Craig Lowry

2009: Greg Barkey

2008: Kermit Quisenberry


No personal attacks or insults, no hate speech, no profanity. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate this thread by reporting any abuse. See our Commenting FAQ.

The opinions expressed in reader comments are those of the author only, and do not reflect the opinions of The Seattle Times.

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden