403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

Follow us:
403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden


Sounders FC

Daily coverage of Seattle Sounders FC, MLS and world soccer.

November 11, 2013 at 10:53 PM

Dozens of MLS coaches have come and gone since Sigi Schmid was hired by Sounders FC

Sigi Schmid has been the man in charge here since Sounders FC’s very first MLS game, even as questions persist about his job security ahead of a sit-down with ownership in a few days.

In the past five seasons, he has seen about 50 coaches come and go in the league when you include interims (I only counted those who coaches games, unlike, say, Mauro Biello in between seasons for Montreal).

Besides Seattle, the only other teams that haven’t made coaching changes since the start of the 2009 season are Real Salt Lake, Houston and Los Angeles — well, at least once FC Dallas announces its new hire.

Here is a look:

*     *     *

Chicago Fire (4): Denis Hamlett (2008-2009), Carlos de los Cobos (2010-2011), Frank Klopas (2011-2013), Frank Yallop (current)

Chivas USA (6): Preki (2007-2009), Martin Vasquez (2010), Robin Fraser (2011-2012), Jose Luis Sanchez Sola (2013), Sacha van der Most (2013, interim), Jose Luis Real (2013-current)

Colorado Rapids (2): Gary Smith (2008-2011), Oscar Pareja (2012-current)

Columbus Crew (3): Robert Warzycha (2009-2013), Brian Bliss (2013, interim), Gregg Berhalter (current)

D.C. United (3): Tom Soehn (2007-2009), Curt Onalfo (2010), Ben Olsen (2010-current)

FC Dallas (1): Schellas Hyndman (2008-2013), vacant

Houston Dynamo (1): Dominic Kinnear* (2004-current)

Los Angeles Galaxy (1): Bruce Arena (2008-current)

Montreal Impact (2): Jesse Marsch (2012), Marco Schallibaum (2013-current)

New England Revolution (2): Steve Nicol (2003-2011), Jay Heaps (2012-current)

New York Red Bulls (4): Juan Carlos Osorio (2008-09), Richie Williams (2009, interim), Hans Backe (2010-2012),  Mike Petke (2013-current)

Philadelphia Union (2): Peter Nowak (2010-2012), John Hackworth (2012-current)

Portland Timbers (3): John Spencer (2011-2012), Gavin Wilkinson (2012 interim), Caleb Porter (2013-current)

Real Salt Lake (1): Jason Kreis (2007-current)

San Jose Earthquakes (2): Frank Yallop (2007-2013), Matt Watson (2013-current)

Seattle Sounders FC (1): Sigi Schmid (2009-current)

Sporting Kansas City (2): Curt Onalfo (2006-2009), Peter Vermes (2009-current)

Toronto FC (7): John Carver (2008-2009), Chris Cummins (2009, interim), Preki (2010), Nick Dasovic (2010, interim), Aron Winter (2011-2012), Paul Mariner (2012), Ryan Nelson (2013-current)

Vancouver Whitecaps (3): Teitur Thordarson (2011), Tom Soehn (2011, interim), Martin Rennie (2012-2013), vacant

* — hired by San Jose, stayed with team when it relocated to Houston


No personal attacks or insults, no hate speech, no profanity. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate this thread by reporting any abuse. See our Commenting FAQ.

The opinions expressed in reader comments are those of the author only, and do not reflect the opinions of The Seattle Times.

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden