403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

Follow us:
403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden


Sounders FC

Daily coverage of Seattle Sounders FC, MLS and world soccer.

November 26, 2013 at 11:18 AM

New England newcomer Jose Goncalves named Defender of Year in MLS

A few more MLS postseason awards were released Tuesday, led by New England newcomer Jose Goncalves winning Defender of the Year. He played every minute this season, led the third-best defense in the league and had two game-winning goals (and also received my vote).

Here is the breakdown:

Player (Club) % of Club Votes % of Media Votes % of Player Votes Weighted Total
Jose Goncalves (NE) 36.74 46.75 18.83 102.32
Matt Besler (SKC) 14.29 27.27 13.75 55.31
Omar Gonzalez (LA) 18.37 7.79 15.07 41.23
Jamison Olave (NY) 10.2 11.69 13.18 35.07

In other awards, Revolution goalkeeper Matt Reis has been named MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitarian of the Year for his actions after the Boston Marathon bombing, notably saving the life of his father-in-law. Here is a good feature on the story.

Elsewhere, Hilario Grajeda won Referee of the Year and Kermit Quisenberry won Assistant Referee of the Year. You can check out those voting details here.

Previous winners after the jump:

MLS Defender of the Year Winners:

2013: Jose Goncalves – New England Revolution
Matt Besler – Sporting Kansas City
2011: Omar Gonzalez – LA Galaxy
2010: Jamison Olave – Real Salt Lake
2009: Chad Marshall – Columbus Crew
2008: Chad Marshall – Columbus Crew
2007: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2006: Bobby Boswell – D.C. United
2005: Jimmy Conrad – Kansas City Wizards
2004: Robin Fraser – Columbus Crew
2003: Carlos Bocanegra – Chicago Fire
2002: Carlos Bocanegra – Chicago Fire
2001: Jeff Agoos – San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Peter Vermes – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Robin Fraser – Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Lubos Kubik – Chicago Fire
1997: Eddie Pope – D.C. United
1996: John Doyle – San Jose Earthquakes

Referee of the Year Winners:

2013: Hilario Grajeda
Silviu Petrescu
2011: Mark Geiger
2010: Kevin Stott
2009: Alex Prus
2008: Jair Marrufo
2007: Brian Hall
2006: Brian Hall
2005: Brian Hall
2004: Abiodun ‘Abbey’ Okulaja
2003: Brian Hall
2002: Kevin Terry
2001: Paul Tamberino
2000: Paul Tamberino
1999: Paul Tamberino
1998: Paul Tamberino
1997: Esse Baharmast

Assistant Referee of the Year Winners:

2013: Kermit Quisenberry
Ian Anderson
2011: Corey Rockwell
2010: Craig Lowry
2009: Greg Barkey
2008: Kermit Quisenberry


No personal attacks or insults, no hate speech, no profanity. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate this thread by reporting any abuse. See our Commenting FAQ.

The opinions expressed in reader comments are those of the author only, and do not reflect the opinions of The Seattle Times.

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden