Follow us:

Sounders FC

Daily coverage of Seattle Sounders FC, MLS and world soccer.

December 20, 2013 at 10:41 AM

Clint Dempsey named to USMNT All-Time Best XI, Kasey Keller left out

US Centennial shield-01-1.jpgAs part of its centennial celebration, U.S. Soccer revealed its All-Time Best XI for the men’s national team Friday (the women’s team came out Thursday).

There were a few Sounders FC connections as Clint Dempsey was voted to the team, Kasey Keller was runnerup at goalkeeper, and Chris Henderson was one of the other nominees.

Here is the team:

Goalkeeper — Brad Friedel, 1992-2004
Defender — Marcelo Balboa, 1988-2000
Defender — Carlos Bocanegra, 2001-2012
Defender — Steve Cherundolo, 1999-2012
Defender — Eddie Pope, 1996-2006
Midfielder — Clint Dempsey, 2004-present
Midfielder — Landon Donovan, 2000-present
Midfielder — Tab Ramos, 1988-2000
Midfielder — Claudio Reyna, 1994-2006
Forward — Brian McBride, 1993-2006
Forward — Eric Wynalda, 1990-2000

Donovan got the most votes, being included on 52 of 57 ballots from a select group. He and Dempsey are the only active players on the team. More of the voters and process here.

Goalkeeper was always going to be the most interesting vote, and Friedel got 25 votes (44 percent of the total), followed by Keller (14 votes), Tim Howard (13) and Tony Meola (4). Personally, I thought it would be closer between Friedel and Keller.

Here is the full voting:

Goalkeepers — Brad Friedel 25 , Kasey Keller 14, Tim Howard 13, Tony Meola 4, Arnold Mausser 1, Frank Borghi 0, David Vanole 0

Defenders — Marcelo Balboa 35 , Eddie Pope 33, Carlos Bocanegra 25, Steve Cherundolo 25, Thomas Dooley 20, Paul Caligiuri 18, Jeff Agoos 16, Alexi Lalas 14, Frankie Hejduk 9, Harry Keough 6, Pablo Mastroeni 3, Fernando Clavijo 2, Tony Sanneh 2, Mike Windischmann 2, Gregg Berhalter 2, Desmond Armstrong 0, Jimmy Banks, Brian Bliss 0, Mike Burns 0, John Doyle 0, Mike Lapper 0, Oguchi Onyewu 0, Werner Roth 0

Midfielders — Landon Donovan 52 , Claudio Reyna 45, Tab Ramos 42, Clint Dempsey 25, Michael Bradley 20, Cobi Jones 12, Walter Bahr 6, John Harkes 6, Hugo Perez 3, Adolf Bachmeier 2, Rick Davis 2, John O’Brien 2, Al Trost 2, DaMarcus Beasley 1, Ed McIlvenny 1*, Joe-Max Moore 1, Brian Quinn 1, Mike Sorber 1, Chris Armas 0, Chris Henderson 0, Eddie Lewis 0, Preki 0, Ed Souza 0, John Souza 0

Forwards — Brian McBride 45 , Eric Wynalda 43, Earnie Stewart 16, Billy Gonsalves 7, Jozy Altidore 6, Peter Vermes 3, Joe Gaetjens 2, Archie Stark 2, Roy Wegerle 2, Roy Lassiter 1, Clint Mathis 1, Benny McLaughlin 1*, Ed Murphy 1*, Bruce Murray 1, Kyle Rote Jr. 1, Willy Roy 1, David Brown 0, Brian Ching 0, Aldo “Buff” Donelli 0, Frank Klopas 0, Bill Looby 0, Bert Patenaude 0, Josh Wolff 0

*These three players were not on the eligible list, but were write-in votes

| More in


No personal attacks or insults, no hate speech, no profanity. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate this thread by reporting any abuse. See our Commenting FAQ.

The opinions expressed in reader comments are those of the author only, and do not reflect the opinions of The Seattle Times.

The Seattle Times

The door is closed, but it's not locked.

Take a minute to subscribe and continue to enjoy The Seattle Times for as little as 99 cents a week.

Subscription options ►

Already a subscriber?

We've got good news for you. Unlimited content access is included with most subscriptions.

Subscriber login ►
The Seattle Times

To keep reading, you need a subscription upgrade.

We hope you have enjoyed your complimentary access. For unlimited access, please upgrade your digital subscription.

Call customer service at 1.800.542.0820 for assistance with your upgrade or questions about your subscriber status.

The Seattle Times

To keep reading, you need a subscription.

We hope you have enjoyed your complimentary access. Subscribe now for unlimited access!

Subscription options ►

Already a subscriber?

We've got good news for you. Unlimited content access is included with most subscriptions.

Activate Subscriber Account ►