403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

Follow us:
403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden


Sounders FC

Daily coverage of Seattle Sounders FC, MLS and world soccer.

January 3, 2014 at 8:29 AM

NWSL reveals updated list of league’s allocated players

nwslReign FC will have six of the 50 allocated national-team players in the NWSL next season. The league unveiled the official list Friday morning, and the majority of the U.S., Canadian and Mexican internationals were already on their team’s rosters.

For that reason, you shouldn’t be too surprised to see Seattle’s allocated players: goalkeeper Hope Solo (USA), forward/midfielder Megan Rapinoe (USA), forward Sydney Leroux (USA), defender Stephanie Cox (USA), defender Carmelina Moscato (Canada), and defender Ari Romero (Mexico).

Cox joined the Reign last season after having a baby and is a new U.S. allocated player in 2014. The only new player to the team is Romero, a rookie out of the University of Nebraska. Rapinoe, of course, will join the team in June following another loan with France’s Lyon.

Regarding some of last year’s allocated players, Jenny Ruiz (Mexico) was not selected to be one of the federation’s eight this season and won’t return to the Reign. Emily Zurrer (Canada) has joined Jitex BK of Sweden.

Leaguewide, the breakdown of allocated players is 26 Americans, 16 Canadians and eight Mexicans. As a reminder, allocated played have their salaries subsidized by the national-team federations to keep costs down for club owners.

New to the group this season are five Americans (Cox, Yael Averbuch, Whitney Engen, Meghan Klingenberg, Christen Press), four Canadians (Jonelle Filigno, Rachel Quon, Chelsea Stewart and Melissa Tancredi) and two Mexicans (Romero, Jackie Acevedo).

Of note, there is an expansion draft coming up for the Houston Dash. No players can be waived until that takes place, more details on it to come, but trades can be made starting today until Monday.

Full team-by-team allocations after the jump:

*     *     *

Boston Breakers

Meghan Klingenberg (USA)*
Kristie Mewis (USA)
Heather O’Reilly (USA)
Chelsea Stewart (CAN)*
Kaylyn Kyle (CAN)
Dinora Garza (MEX)

Chicago Red Stars

Shannon Boxx (USA)
Amy LePeilbet (USA)
Christen Press (USA)*
Adriana Leon (CAN)
Erin McLeod (CAN)
Rachel Quon (CAN)*

Houston Dash

Whitney Engen (USA)*
Melissa Tancredi (CAN)*
Teresa Noyola (MEX)

FC Kansas City

Nicole Barnhart (USA)
Lauren Holiday (USA)
Amy Rodriguez (USA)
Becky Sauerbrunn (USA)
Desiree Scott (CAN)
Lauren Sesselmann (CAN)
Cecilia Santiago (MEX)

Portland Thorns FC

Rachel Buehler (USA)
Tobin Heath (USA)
Alex Morgan (USA)
Christine Sinclair (CAN)
Karina LeBlanc (CAN)
Jackie Acevedo (MEX)*

Seattle Reign FC

Stephanie Cox (USA)*
Sydney Leroux (USA)
Megan Rapinoe (USA)
Hope Solo (USA)
Carmelina Moscato (CAN)
Arianna Romero (MEX)*

Sky Blue FC

Jill Loyden (USA)
Kelley O’Hara (USA)
Christie Rampone (USA)
Jonelle Filigno (CAN)*
Sophie Schmidt (CAN)
Monica Ocampo (MEX)

Washington Spirit

Yael Averbuch (USA)*
Ashlyn Harris (USA)
Ali Krieger (USA)
Robyn Gayle (CAN)
Diana Matheson (CAN)
Renae Cuellar (MEX)

Western New York Flash

Carli Lloyd (USA)
Abby Wambach (USA)
Selenia Iacchelli (CAN)*
Veronica Perez (MEX)

* = New Allocated Player

| More in Reign FC, USWNT


No personal attacks or insults, no hate speech, no profanity. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate this thread by reporting any abuse. See our Commenting FAQ.

The opinions expressed in reader comments are those of the author only, and do not reflect the opinions of The Seattle Times.

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden