403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

Follow us:
403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden


Sounders FC

Daily coverage of Seattle Sounders FC, MLS and world soccer.

January 16, 2014 at 8:58 PM

Sigi Schmid, Chris Henderson on ballot again for National Soccer Hall of Fame

Voting began Thursday for the National Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2014, and Sounders FC’s Sigi Schmid and Chris Henderson are on the ballot, once again.

Schmid is nominated as a “builder” of the game while Henderson is nominated as a player. Voting closes Feb. 7 with the winner being announced shortly after.

Players in their first year of eligibility, after at least three years of retirement, are Chris Klein, Eddie Lewis, Kristine Lilly, Kristin Luckenbill, Kate Sobrero Markgraf, Clint Mathis, Brian McBride, Jaime Moreno, Steve Ralston and Briana Scurry.

Players in their final year of eligibility, at 10 years from retirement, are Raul Diaz Arce, Marco Etcheverry, Zoran Karic, Victor Nogueira, and Cindy Parlow Cone (they will go to the veterans ballot if not voted in).

“The National Soccer Hall of Fame class for 2014 will certainly be a stellar one,” said Hank Steinbrecher, chairman of the Hall of Fame’s board of directors, in a news release.

“Each and every one on the ballot is more than deserving of the ultimate recognition of being elected into the Hall. I am sure that this year the voters will be hard pressed to select just one candidate. We are proud of all of the individuals who are on the ballot and thank them for their outstanding service to the beautiful game.”

The voting pool includes all past and present USMNT and USWNT coaches, all active MLS and NWSL head coaches with at least four years experience in top leagues, selected MLS and NWSL management representatives, MLS Commissioner Don Garber, NWSL Executive Director Cheryl Bailey, U.S. Soccer CEO/Secretary General Dan Flynn, U.S. Soccer President Sunil Gulati, selected members of the media, and all Hall of Famers.

Ballots can include up to 10 players. Players need at least 66.7 percent of the vote and any player on less than five percent of ballots will be removed from contention until they qualify for the veteran ballot (more than 10 years from retirement).

Ballots can include up to five veterans/builders. The top vote-getter is inducted as long as he/she receives more than 50 percent of the vote.

Here are the candidates:

*     *     *

2014 National Soccer Hall of Fame Player Ballot

Chris Armas
Raul Diaz Arce **
Marco Etcheverry **
Lorrie Fair
Robin Fraser
Chris Henderson
Zoran Karic **
Chris Klein *
Jason Kreis
Eddie Lewis *
Kristine Lilly *
Kristin Luckenbill *
Shannon MacMillan
Kate Sobrero Markgraf*
Clint Mathis*
Brian McBride*
Jaime Moreno*
Victor Nogueira **
John O’Brien
Ben Olsen
Cindy Parlow Cone **
Steve Ralston*
Ante Razov
Tiffany Roberts
Tony Sanneh
Briana Scurry *
Taylor Twellman

* First year of eligibility
** Final year of eligibility; moves to Veteran ballot in 2015

2014 National Soccer Hall of Fame Veteran Ballot

David Brcic
Mike Burns
Kevin Crow
John Doyle
Linda Hamilton
Mary Harvey
Dominic Kinnear
Frank Klopas
Bill McPherson
Shep Messing
Glenn Myernick
Mike Sorber
Tisha Venturini-Hoch
Steve Zungu

2014 National Soccer Hall of Fame Builder Ballot

Chuck Blazer
Gianfranco Borroni
Bob Bradley
Bob Contiguglia
Don Garber
Burton Haimes
Francisco Marcos
Fritz Marth
Sigi Schmid

| More in Sounders FC


No personal attacks or insults, no hate speech, no profanity. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate this thread by reporting any abuse. See our Commenting FAQ.

The opinions expressed in reader comments are those of the author only, and do not reflect the opinions of The Seattle Times.

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden