403 Forbidden


nginx
403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden


nginx
Follow us:
403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden


nginx

Women's Hoops

The latest news and analysis on college and pro women's basketball.

June 23, 2010 at 1:47 PM

Washington releases full 2010-11 schedule

Huskies2.jpgThe revival of the Washington-Seattle University matchup was a short one. Apparently conflicts prompted the schools to not to play each other in the upcoming season despite both coaches declaring it an annual event.
UW defeated SU by five at Connolly Center in December, owning the overall series 12-3. SU is returning to Division-I status and will have some solid recruits become eligible under coach Joan Bonvicini’s second season next year.
So, if a “Battle in Seattle” is off the docket, who is on? Washington, which was 13-18 last season, will play Pac-10 newcomer Utah on the road in December. The Utes, which are expected to join the conference in 2011, were 23-12 last season and advanced to the Women’s NIT. As previously reported, the Huskies will participate in the Great Alaska Shootout instead of hosting its Husky Classic in November.
The rematch with Portland State will be interesting on Nov. 14 at Edmundson Pavilion. The Vikings defeated the Huskies 67-66 to open the 2009-10 season and advance to the NCAA tournament, losing in the opening round to Texas A&M.
The Huskies also host Georgia Tech at Hec Ed. The Yellow Jackets (23-10) earned the No. 6 seed in the NCAA tournament, but were upset in the opening round of the NCAA tourney to Arkansas-Little Rock.
UW, which finished sixth (7-11) in the Pac-10 last year, opens conference play with the Los Angeles schools on Dec. 31 (UCLA) and Jan. 2 (USC) at home. Basketball’s first-round of the “Apple Cup” is Jan. 29 at Hec Ed. The Cougars host the Huskies Feb. 25.
Overall, the schedule is light. Jackson is entering the fourth of a five-year contract, getting support from UW athletic director Scott Woodward that she’d retain her position as long as the team continued to show progress.
The Huskies could fare well because of last season’s sophomore are now honed veterans.
Jackson led the Huskies to the postseason last year, playing in the inaugural Women’s Basketball Invitational. UW lost in the second round to Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, however.
Here’s the full schedule:

Day – Date – Local – Time – Opponent – Location –
Wednesday 3-Nov 7PM Western Washington (exhibition) Bank of America Arena
Monday 8-Nov 7PM Seattle Pacific (closed scrimmage) Bank of America Arena
Sunday 14-Nov 2PM Portland State Bank of America Arena
Saturday 20-Nov TBA Brigham Young Provo, UT
Tuesday 23-Nov TBA Great Alaska Shoot Out Anchorage, AK
Wednesday 24-Nov TBA Great Alaska Shoot Out Anchorage, AK
Wednesday 1-Dec TBA Utah Salt Lake City, UT
Wednesday 8-Dec TBA Cal State Northridge Northridge, CA
Sunday 12-Dec 2PM UC Riverside Bank of America Arena
Monday 20-Dec 7PM Western Michigan Bank of America Arena
Thursday 23-Dec 5PM Georgia Tech Bank of America Arena
Friday 31-Dec TBA UCLA Bank of America Arena
Sunday 2-Jan TBA USC Bank of America Arena
Friday 7-Jan TBA OREGON STATE Corvallis, OR
Sunday 9-Jan TBA OREGON Eugene, OR
Friday 14-Jan TBA STANFORD Bank of America Arena
Sunday 16-Jan TBA CALIFORNIA Bank of America Arena
Thursday 20-Jan TBA ARIZONA Tucson, AZ
Saturday 22-Jan TBA ARIZONA STATE Tempe, AZ
Saturday 29-Jan TBA WASHINGTON STATE Bank of America Arena
Thursday 3-Feb TBA OREGON Bank of America Arena
Saturday 5-Feb TBA OREGON STATE Bank of America Arena
Thursday 10-Feb TBA CALIFORNIA Berkeley, CA
Saturday 12-Feb TBA STANFORD Palo Alto, CA
Thursday 17-Feb TBA ARIZONA STATE Bank of America Arena
Saturday 19-Feb TBA ARIZONA Bank of America Arena
Friday 25-Feb TBA WASHINGTON STATE Pullman, WA
Thursday 3-MarTBA USC Los Angeles, CA
Saturday 5-Mar TBA UCLA, Westwood, CA

Comments

COMMENTS

No personal attacks or insults, no hate speech, no profanity. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate this thread by reporting any abuse. See our Commenting FAQ.



The opinions expressed in reader comments are those of the author only, and do not reflect the opinions of The Seattle Times.


403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden


nginx
403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden


nginx