Follow us:

Women's Hoops

The latest news and analysis on college and pro women's basketball.

February 10, 2014 at 7:43 AM

Washington freshman Kelsey Plum impresses, but not enough for WBCA award


UW G Kelsey Plum attempts a shot

After Washington freshman G Kelsey Plum’s performance in an upset against No. 3 Stanford on Sunday and consistency this season, I wondered whether the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association would make her part of the 10 players added by the WBCA on Monday to the “Wade Watch” list. UW junior Jazmine Davis was a preseason nod but didn’t advance in the latest cut to determine the top women’s basketball player in the country.

Plum wasn’t part of the additions. In fact, none of the additions were from a school out West. But Plum’s performance resonated with national media and Cardinal Hall of Fame coach Tara VanDerveer.

Kelsey Plum had an outstanding game and I can’t believe there’s a better freshman in the country,” VanDerveer said of Plum, who began her post-prep career by winning gold with USA Basketball’s FIBA U-19 team last summer.

Plum, a crafty 5-foot-9 lefty, is the leading scorer among freshmen in the country, averaging 19.7 points. She’s close to becoming UW’s top freshman leading scorer in program history. Loree Payne owns the record. She averaged 17.4 points as a freshman in 1999-00. Payne totaled 521 points that season. Plum is at 454 with six Pac-12 games remaining on the regular-season schedule.

Here are the additions to the “Wade Watch” list from the WBCA:

10 players added to list of ‘Wade Watch’ hopefuls

ATLANTA (Feb. 10, 2014) – The Wade Trophy Committee has added 10 additional student-athletes to the 2014 “Wade Watch” list, the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), on behalf of the Wade Trophy Coalition, announced today.

Joining the preseason list of 25 Wade Watch hopefuls are Tiffany Bias of Oklahoma State, Hallie Christofferson of Iowa State, Christina Foggie of Vanderbilt, Markeisha Gatling of N.C. State, Dearica Hamby of Wake Forest, Natasha Howard of Florida State, Alexis Jones of Duke, Tricia Liston of Duke, Jewell Loyd of Notre Dame, and Tiffany Mitchell of South Carolina.

The Wade Trophy Coalition presents The Wade Trophy to the nation’s most outstanding NCAA® Division I women’s basketball player each year – one who not only excels athletically but also serves as a positive role model both on and off the court. The acclaimed Wade Watch list, from which The Wade Trophy recipient is chosen, consists of players selected on the basis of game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.

The Wade Watch list will be trimmed to 12 finalists in mid-March. The Wade Trophy Coalition will officially announce The Wade Trophy winner at the fourth annual WBCA Awards Show on Monday, April 7, which is part of the 2014 WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women’s Final Four®, in Nashville.

Here is the complete 2014 State Farm Wade Watch list:

Name Institution Position Year
Natalie Achonwa Notre Dame Forward Senior
Rachel Banham Minnesota Guard Junior
Tiffany Bias Oklahoma State Guard Senior
Brittany Boyd California Guard Junior
Gennifer Brandon California Forward Senior
Hallie Christofferson Iowa State Forward Senior
Jerica Coley FIU Guard Senior
Stefanie Dolson Connecticut Center Senior
Aaryn Ellenberg Oklahoma Guard Senior
Christina Foggie Vanderbilt Guard Senior
Markeisha Gatling NC State Center Senior
Bashaara Graves Tennessee Forward Sophomore
Chelsea Gray Duke Guard Senior
Dearica Hamby Wake Forest Forward Junior
Bria Hartley Connecticut Guard Senior
Jordan Hooper Nebraska Forward Senior
Natasha Howard Florida State Forward Senior
Alexis Jones Duke Guard Sophomore
Tricia Liston Duke Guard Senior
Jewell Loyd Notre Dame Guard Sophomore
Maggie Lucas Penn State Guard Senior
Tyaunna Marshall Georgia Tech Guard Senior
Kayla McBride Notre Dame Guard Senior
Tiffany Mitchell South Carolina Guard Sophomore
Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis Connecticut Forward Junior
Chiney Oqwumike Stanford Forward Senior
Theresa Plaisance LSU Forward Senior
Ebony Rowe Middle Tennessee Forward Senior
Shoni Schimmel Louisville Guard Senior
Meighan Simmons Tennessee Guard Senior
Odyssey Sims Baylor Guard Senior
DeNesha Stallworth Kentucky Forward Senior
Breanna Stewart Connecticut Forward Sophomore
Alyssa Thomas Maryland Forward Senior
Elizabeth Williams Duke Center/Forward Junior

The Wade Trophy, named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women’s national player of the year award in college basketball. The Wade Trophy Coalition was established in June 2000 when the WBCA partnered with The National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS), now known as the Society of Health and Physical Educators, doing business as SHAPE America. For the past 11 years the two have worked together to present The Wade Trophy player of the year award. A committee composed of coaches, administrators and media from across the U.S. selects the winner.

Comments | More in Northwest Ballers, Washington | Topics: Stanford, Tara VanDerveer


No personal attacks or insults, no hate speech, no profanity. Please keep the conversation civil and help us moderate this thread by reporting any abuse. See our Commenting FAQ.

The opinions expressed in reader comments are those of the author only, and do not reflect the opinions of The Seattle Times.

The Seattle Times

The door is closed, but it's not locked.

Take a minute to subscribe and continue to enjoy The Seattle Times for as little as 99 cents a week.

Subscription options ►

Already a subscriber?

We've got good news for you. Unlimited content access is included with most subscriptions.

Subscriber login ►
The Seattle Times

To keep reading, you need a subscription upgrade.

We hope you have enjoyed your complimentary access. For unlimited access, please upgrade your digital subscription.

Call customer service at 1.800.542.0820 for assistance with your upgrade or questions about your subscriber status.

The Seattle Times

To keep reading, you need a subscription.

We hope you have enjoyed your complimentary access. Subscribe now for unlimited access!

Subscription options ►

Already a subscriber?

We've got good news for you. Unlimited content access is included with most subscriptions.

Activate Subscriber Account ►